header image

Date Published - 2013-11-30 Author - Emma Leach

Harry Potter Movies in Order

The Harry Potter movies are based on the series of seven books by J.K. Rowling, about a boy wizard (Harry Potter) who attends Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry discovers that he is a wizard at the age of eleven and enters his first year at Hogwarts, and each book follows Harry over one year at school. Harry has to confront and battle, and eventually overcome the dark wizard, Voldemort, and the books also follow this battle year by year.

As the books follow a certain timeline, and as the movies follow the books, one thus has to watch the Harry Potter movies in order. Although there are only seven books, there are eight movies, with the last book being split into two movies in order to give the culmination of the story the justice it deserved.

The first movie, The Philosopher's Stone, was released in 2001 and directed by Chris Columbus. The movie was based on the book by J.K. Rowling by the same name, and follows Harry Potter's first year at Hogwarts. The story was adapted for the screen by Steve Kloves. J.K. Rowling insisted that the entire cast of the movie franchise be English or Irish. Although thousands of British children auditioned for the title role, Chris Columbus had seen young Daniel Radcliffe perform in a BBC production of David Copperfield, and he was determined that Daniel should have the role of the boy wizard. And so it was that an eleven year old Daniel took the part. He was twelve when the movie was released, making him the same age as his character. The parts of Harry's best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, went to Rupert Grint and Emma Watson respectively.

In this first movie we are introduced to the orphan Harry, who discovers that he is a wizard who is quite famous in the secret magical world that runs parallel to our own. The story goes that as a baby, Harry managed to defeat the dark wizard Voldemort who killed Harry's parents. Harry starts school at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he becomes friends with Ron and Hermione, and the three are inseparable throughout the series. During the book we become aware that Voldemort has returned, and Harry has to learn to defeat him again.

If you are watching the Harry Potter movies in order, the next one on the list is The Prisoner of Azkaban, released in 2004. Again, the story was written by Steve Klovis, however for the third instalment Chris Columbus was a producer on the movie and it was directed by Alfonso Cuaron. The story follows Harry and his friends as they enter their third year at school, and we learn more about Harry's past and his parents.

The fourth movie is The Goblet of Fire (2005). Again, it was written by Steve Klovis, and this movie was directed by Mike Newell, and reprised the same cast as the previous three instalments. During this movie, we see Voldemort resurrect himself and watch Harry battle him once more.

The fifth movie is The Order of the Phoenix (2007). This movie had a new writer in the form of Michael Goldenberg, and was directed by David Yates. At this point of the story franchise, we see the battle to defeat Voldemort and the movies start to take on a darker tone.

To continue with the Harry Potter movies in order, you need to next watch The Half-Blood Prince. This was again directed by David Yates, and returned to writer Steve Klovis. The movie was released in 2009 when Daniel Radcliffe was twenty-two, although in the story Harry was sixteen. During this instalment the dark magical forces are gaining strength, and the movie reflects this with its darker tones.

The final book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, was split into two movies – Deathly Hallows Part 1 (2010) and Deathly Hallows Part 2 (2011). There was so much storyline to cover in depth within the final book that it was decided that two movies were needed to do it all justice. The final instalments were again both directed by David Yates and written by Steve Klovis. These final movies cover Harry's final efforts in the fight against Voldemort, and his eventual defeat.

Date Published - 2013-11-30 Author - Emma Leach


Add your comment